BWI congratulates the newly elected members of the FSC International board

23 September 2019 17:26

FSC International recently held it elections for new members for the board of directors. The board of directors is composited of 2 members for each sub-chamber and board members are elected for a four-year term. Normally every two years, half of the board members are elected. On Friday 20 September the members of FSC International were informed about the results of the 2019 elections.  

The BWI would like to congratulate FSC International with the results of this elections, as not only was quorum reached within the set deadline of 6 September, but the elected members also had the support of BWI and its affiliates.  The BWI would like to congratulate Australian Linda Fienberg who was nominated by BWI; Janne Näräkkä from Finland and works for Stora Enso with which BWI has an International Framework Agreement;  Zandra Martinez, from Mexico and who did good work on the governance review; Ivone Satsuki Namikawa from Brasil and works for Klabin; Per Larsson from Sweden and works for WWF Sweden; Carla Ximena from Ecuador; and re-elected Ralph Schmidt-Liermann from Urugay working for Eufores. 

Ambet Yuson, General Secretary of BWI stated “The results of the elections show what the combined and coordinated power of the trade unions can bring to the FSC community.   We look forward to working with the FSC board constructively and in spirit of mutual cooperation to address the many challenges FSC still face, particularly when it comes to enhancing and enforcing workers’ and trade union rights.”

Other members that will continue to serve on the board are Rulita Wijayaningdyah, Barbra Bramble, Leendert van der Vlist, Mauro Amelin and Alan Thorne.